+92 321-4786045

Australian Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190)

The Skilled Nominated visa (Subclass 190) is a permanent work visa for individuals who have the qualifications or skills that are needed by the Australian economy, but cannot meet the pass mark required to obtain a Skilled Independent Visa. This category is also open to applicants who are able to satisfy the pass mark but wish to access priority processing which applies once state/territory sponsorship is offered by a participating state/territory government agency..
Skilled Nominated visa (Subclass 190) applicants are required to obtain a minimum of 60 points on a points assessment and must obtain nomination from a participating State or Territory government. The assessment is such that applicants are required to be under 50 years of age and be able to demonstrate that they have a qualification or the skills of an occupation on the Sponsored Skilled Occupation List (CSOL).

Basic Requirements

The Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC) has set specific basic requirements that all applicants must meet in order to apply for a visa in the General Skilled Migration program. There are basic requirements you must meet to apply for this visa. You must:

  • be invited to apply,
  • be younger than 50 years of age when you are invited to apply,
  • nominate an occupation that matches your skills and qualifications and is on the relevant Sponsored Skilled Occupation List (CSOL),
  • have your skills assessed by the relevant assessing authority as suitable for your nominated occupation,
  • have at least competent English,
  • score at least 60 on the points test, and
  • meet the health and character requirements.

To be nominated by a State or Territory government, applicants must satisfy specific criteria, as set by the particular State or Territory. These may include:

  • having an occupation on the skills shortage list in that State or Territory; or
  • demonstrating specialised skills in a particular region of that State or Territory.

On 1 July 2012, the skilled migration program switched to a new online system called "SkillSelect" which will require prospective skilled migrants to submit an Expression of Interest (EOI). Once an EOI is submitted, these details can be viewed by Australian employers, state and territory governments and by the Australian Government who have the ability to extend an invitation to lodge a visa application.


Successful applicants and holders of an Australian Skilled Independent visa (Subclass 190) become permanent residents of Australia. Australian permanent residents are entitled to live, work and study in Australia on a permanent basis. Additional benefits of Australian permanent residence include access to government-subsidised healthcare (Medicare), certain social security benefits and the ability to apply for Australian citizenship.

  • Education: Applicants are awarded up to 15 points.
  • Language Skills: Applicants are awarded up to 20 total points.
  • Work Experience: Applicants are awarded up to 15 points for paid skilled work experience acquired in the last 10 years.
  • Age: Applicants are awarded up to 30 points.
  • Adaptability: Applicants are awarded up to 5 points.
  • State Nomination: Applicants are awarded up to 10 points.